I don’t know about everyone else, but the holidays of 2010 have not left me feeling good about myself and inwardly moping around much like that poor puppy above. Too much sugar, not enough exercise, feeling stiff, feeling fat, feeling ugly. These are not things we should be have to feel about ourselves, unless there is some radical change we need to make in which case being a little hard on yourself could be beneficial. However, I know I am not alone in beating myself up as many people around me gripe about how they’re eating too much and how they’re stressed about the holidays. Seeing as it is the last day of 2010, what better way to end the year than through yoga and self acceptance?

This morning I did some Jivamukti yoga. Jivamukti means “liberation while living” and it applies yogic philosophy to real life (peaceful vitality in a nutshell). It is intellectually, physically, and spiritually stimulating. I had never done Jivamukti yoga before and at first it was a little nerve wracking because it is quite fast paced. However, I got the hang of it and it was extremely liberating indeed! It moved so quickly that I had no time to judge myself because I was too busy trying to follow Sharon Gannon’s pearls of wisdom and instructions. Afterwards, I felt much more compassionate towards myself. And I’m talking a radical change in my self perception. Upon starting the practice, I felt ugly. Upon getting off the mat, I looked at myself and was able to see beauty again.

Whether it is Jivamukti, ashtanga, kundalini, yin, or any other type of yoga you enjoy, be sure to practice these next couple days (and of course into the future). Setting your intention at the beginning as “self acceptance” could be an added way to feel better about yourself.

Remember, 2011 is a new year! Embrace it and embrace yourself.

Namaste. Jenna

photo courtesy of BlackHawkTraffic

