Hello and namaste!! After being really sick in delhi and on our entire trip up here to northern india, I’m feeling much better.
Here’s the rough schedule I’m so grateful to be living:

We wake up at six am for an hour of meditation. There is a circular, beautiful room just for this purpose.

At seven, we have an hour of yoga.

8 breakfast (amazing vegetarian food only! We are expected to eat (“take prasad”) in silence. So I usually sit alone and take my time eating. It’s wonderful to not feel like I have to rush and can just be present with the food. I usually don’t need seconds either which just shows you how powerful true meditative presence around food can be.
11:30 is “satsang” which is basically spiritual question and answer with Swami Brahmdev, the founder of the ashram. His principles are based on the lives and work of Sri Aurobindo and The Mother. This of one of the most  rewarding parts of my day.

1 pm is lunch

3:30 is tea. (the incredible chai/masala tea of India and nepal)

4:30 is  an hour of yoga with a really talented teacher named andres

6 is an hour of meditation and sometimes kirtan (singing of mantras with instruments)

7 dinner

8 “cultural program” which can be anything like a collective reading or chanting om.  Two nights ago, we had om-ing in a circular room filled with blue light above the library. I think it had perfect acoustics because if you sit in the middle, just the sound of you shifting in your seat or clearing your throat travels around the room, magnified and reverberating like an enormous Tibetan singing bowl but even more powerful and more beautiful. So Swamiji, as we call him, says to me “Jenna, sit in the middle.” I obey. Everyone else is sitting around the outside of the room, including swami. He says “say om.” I do, nervously, not knowing what to expect. I’m trying to ask him questions but he just says “start.” And so I start “chanting” om. Youtube monks doing it. It’s beautiful. But it’s basically in between saying the word and singing it if you’ve never seen this. My voice, again, travels around the room, filling the entire thing with vibrations. Then swami joins in and so does everyone else.  We sound like a choir of angels and there were only about six of us. It was astounding and one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had in my life. Leading the chanting from the center of the room, I felt I could hear my voice louder than most. I think the central spot has something special about it physically. I don’t know why he chose me but he did and I’m happy with that. After, we moved all the pictures of the mother and sri aurobindo around to new spots in their alcoves and I don’t know why still haha.  I’ll never forget it.

We chant om in yoga and in certain religions to cleanse our consciousness. It’s a beautiful and powerful spiritual practice.

I’m so happy living my dream. I’m trying to always stay present. I had my astrological birth chart done in Nepal and he told me my work would concern spiritual matters and that based on the alignment of the planets at the exact minute of my birth, I have the potential to really affect humanity. I hope the education I’m receiving here will help me elevate the consciousness of at least myself through yoga and the lifestyle that yoga gives. And who knows, maybe I will have a large impact.

They just rang the bell for tea…

“surrender to the eternality of now.” – jason mraz

Namaste, jenna

