Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m working with Pam McDonald, author of The Perfect Gene Diet to help me better understand the way my body metabolizes fat and cholesterol and am honing my diet even more. She showed me through the tests that I am genetically at very high risk for heart disease and Alzheimer’s. I am part of a small 5% of people who are this high risk. And we both understand that through my diet and lifestyle, and some small tweaks I need to make, I can avoid these preventable diseases entirely.

This brings me to YOU- you may have been told that your genes made you fat or because your mom had a heart attack that you likely will too. This is absolutely not true. Genes are important to an extent but your diet and lifestyle will pull the trigger of the loaded gun (your genes). Furthermore, when we say “I’ll probably have a stroke because my dad and grandpa did,” we’re playing the victim. Or my taste buds/hormones/relationships/cravings are out of control…victim.

When we play the victim, we hand over the control to external factors, mentally letting ourselves off the hook. It’s easier to be a victim than to stand fully in our responsibility for ourselves and the feelings of fear that may come with that.

If you want to stop playing the victim, you have to take responsibility for your life. Want to prevent the heart attack your mom had from happening to you? Then change the way you live your life- gradually and over time, of course. Get outside support and help. Hire a trainer. Sign up for my Six Month Program- seriously, it’ll change your life. Go walk/hike/swim/run/anything!

The same goes with the rest of your life- are you miserable at your job? Do something about it. Take a chance, work for yourself. Feel the fear and do it anyway!

Are you bored with your life? Save up the money and go travel. Learn to scuba dive and go to the Great Barrier Reef. Go backpacking. Do something you’ve never done before. Stretch the limits of your mind. Discover yourself (even if you’re 80!).

No one is going to do it for you. As my favorite finance guy, Dave Ramsey, says, “The Cavalry ain’t comin.” No one is going to save you or rescue you and the only one you have to answer to, really, at the end of the day is YOU.

I’ve said this before- knowledge isn’t really power. Taking action is power.

Are you taking FULL responsibility for you life, health, wellbeing, spirituality, and mind?

And If you’re ready to take action and take your health and wellness to the next level, email me at jenna@jennapacelli.com and we can do a free Enlightened Health Consultation. 

 

Like what you read? Then you’ll love my weekly newsletter where I write about how to take your health, wellness, and yoga practice to the next level. Sign up here

Image

 

Jenna Pacelli is a Holistic Health Coach and yoga teacher at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition. She coaches yoga practitioners and busy professionals in the San Francisco Bay Area and all over the world have more energy, curb cravings naturally, lose weight and keep it off without dieting, reduce stress levels, and live from a place of joy and authenticity. Her clients create lasting change and fully embodied health and wellbeing.

Jenna believes that by creating health and wellness at the physical, emotional and mental levels, it is inevitable that joy and a deep understanding of one’s purpose follow.

