Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just spent the last 10 days on the island of Kauai. I know, poor me. Every night, I slept with the door open and was lulled to sleep by the crashing surf which waxed and waned with the moon, often becoming stronger and louder at night. In the morning, I would sit out on the porch and watch the waves in their relentless pattern of advancement and retreat. I kept my cell phone off for days a time. I didn’t even bring my laptop. It was vacation and I aspire to make my life a healthy balance between vacation and “work” – or mostly, have life be a vacation with bits of “work” sprinkled in here and there. This might sound “crazy” to some people or impossible – “Be practical- life isn’t a vacation all the time!” No, it may not ALWAYS be a vacation, but I can sure as hell try! 

When we look at our lives outside the normal expectations of society, we can start to create life on our own terms. I was once talking with a woman I barely knew and we were talking about travel. I’ve been to many places in the world and was in the infancy of creating a life I adore and continue to revel in and improve upon. She said she admired me because she thought I was brave and because she felt scared to step out of the 9-5/settle down/get married, have kids, repeat matrix even though she deeply wanted, in her heart, to step out. Her fear was palpable and as much as I tried to talk her out of it, she was attached to that fear. Her fear was bigger than her faith. And as I soaked in the energy of Hawaii these past days, the idea of coming back to live and work for a couple months (because my business is quite location independent) in Kauai, was absolutely possible in my mind. 

Image

When we expand our ideas of what’s possible, we start to plant the seeds for a new reality. {tweet it}

So when you start to dream and dream BIG, you’ll shift things. And as you continue to dream, and start to see all the things that are possible, you’ll realize how truly engrained our limiting beliefs are about what we can and cannot have. You CAN have it all. Really. You’d be shocked to observe just how repressed we can be in our dreaming and aspiring. Everything is possible. And you’ll let go of the conditions you place on what’s possible as well. Like “living in Hawaii for a couple months is only possible if I make a million dollars a year.” 

Some actionable steps to take right now: 

1. Check out these two amazing books: The Four Hour Workweek by Tim Ferriss and The Desire Map by Danielle LaPorte. When we focus on how we want to FEEL every day and how to define life based on our own ideas of success, we create a tipping point in our brains that helps us see beyond other people’s ideas of success. 

2. Take out a pen and paper and write down the things you would do if money were not an option. If you had $100 million in the bank what would you do with your life? Then write three things you can do today to move forward towards those goals (even if you don’t have millions in the bank.)

3. Then, write a list of all your desires. What do you really want? Often, our lists will start out with material things like a mini cooper or a new apartment or a new pair of yoga pants. Keep going. Write out everything and anything you desire. What will happen is you’ll run out of material things you want and you’ll start getting into things like “freedom from financial woes” or “a better relationship with myself.” You’ll start to see the important, intangible things you desire and they are usually the things you can take action on today. For example, if you want freedom from financial woes, you can take steps to get a new job or save the money you’re already bringing in. If you’re stuck on what to do about a certain desire, write it out and post it somewhere you can see it every day. Your brain and the Universe will conspire to find a solution or a next step. 

So tell me- What does big, bold living look like to you? What’s YOUR definition of a fearless life look like (and it doesn’t have to include skydiving!) This is all about what it means to YOU. Not anyone else! Comment below! 

Like what you read? Then you’ll love Jenna’s newsletter on all things health, wellness, yoga and living your biggest, boldest life yet. Sign up here and you’ll receive a free recording of her “Loving Yourself, Simplified Teleclass.” 

Namaste, Jenna

