Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last year, I did my first cleanse. On my own. Before I was a health coach and knew what I was doing. It lasted about four and a half days (it was designed to last three weeks). My intentions were pure. I had just returned from India and Nepal and had definitely overdone it on naan and creamy chai’s. Not to mention the fact that I’d gotten sick twice while traveling and was having all sorts of strange stomach pains… I knew something needed to change.

Clockwise from left: The best food in Varanasi, the daily chai in Kathmandu, a thali set in Asi Ghat, Varanasi, and eating yak cheese in a small village outside Pohkara, Nepal.

Clockwise from left: The best food in Varanasi, the daily chai in Kathmandu, a thali set at Asi Ghat, Varanasi, and eating yak cheese in a small village outside Pohkara, Nepal.

So I declared: “I’m going to do a cleanse! YAY! That will solve all my problems and I’ll feel amazing!” I distinctly remember a family member rolling their eyes at my enthusiasm as well. I was off to an interesting start… So I did a free cleanse that I found online and it seemed good to start but dinners were things like a mushroom with kale and olive oil and that was IT. Now if you don’t know me personally, I’m an active person with a steady, consistent need for calories throughout the day. So after about 5 servings of kale and mushrooms, I was sick of said meal and haven’t had it since.

Like I said, the cleanse was designed to last three weeks. I did feel better but was constantly starving and knew I needed something…different? More support for sure. More fat? More protein? The feeling that I was actually cleansing my body of toxins rather than starving it?

What I did gain was a greater sense of connection with my body, what it feels like to be truly hungry, rather than just bored, and how much food my body actually needs, in contrast to thinking I needed to eat all the time. tajjj So when I became a health coach, I knew detoxing would be a part of my practice in helping my clients reconnect to what I call our “Earth Suits” – the vessels we’ve been blessed with inhabiting. Help them stop abusing their bodies with less than ideal foods that don’t serve them and move beyond the food to help them heal other areas of their lives.

But I knew I needed to develop a system that wasn’t as harsh as my experience had been and also was accessible for people at different stages in their journey toward healthy eating. I also knew that I could be the guide that had “gone before,” so to speak to help light the way for my clients so they wouldn’t feel so overwhelmed at the thought of cleansing their bodies.

So when I put a detox into motion that allows people to ease into it no matter where they were on their journey, and having it focus on whole foods rather than just veganism, I knew I was on the right track. This detox provides all the elements that were missing from my own DIY, haphazard cleanse the year before- a support network of detoxers, an expert guide along the way to answer my questions and concerns and help me adapt it to my unique metabolic and life needs, yoga to support my body detox at the cellular level and enough calories to keep me happy!

So if this sounds like exactly what you’re looking for to feel amazing going into summer, read on my friend… This spring detox journey will help you reduce inflammation, lose weight naturally without feeling deprived, sleep better, boost your metabolism, reconnect you with your body and emotions, and figure out which foods work with your body and which ones don’t work so well.

Plus the entire detox is online! So you can detox with me wherever you are in the world.

Join me May 12-22nd for my Spring Detox Journey- we will be detoxing together, as a community, honoring our individual differences, and nourishing our bodies, minds and emotions with healthy foods, thoughts and self care. This is NOT your grandma’s detox.

If you’re in the San Francisco Bay Area, join me at Ocean Beach Yoga SF for cleanse- supporting yoga from 7-8:30 on May 13, 15, 17, 20, and 22. Sign up for yoga here.

Finally, here’s one of my favorite recipes from the detox: It’s called Dream Date Smoothie and it’s amazinggg: 1 ½ cups dairy free milk (almond, coconut or hemp), 2 pitted Medjool dates, soaked and pitted, 1 frozen banana, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 tablespoon raw honey. Blend all together and enjoy!

Sign up to detox with me here. Let me know how you like the smoothie and what aspects of detoxing scares you the most and which parts you think you’d love! I want to hear from you! Be receptive. Jenna

